Awards presented at the San Francisco Annual Meeting

Honorary members elected: Ellen T. Harris, Elaine Sisman

Corresponding members elected: Ruth Katz, Albrecht Riethmüller

Kinkeldey Award (best book by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Katherine Bergeron
For: Voice Lessons: French Mélodie in the Belle Epoque, Oxford University Press, 2010.

Lockwood Award (best book by scholar in early stages):

To: Gundula Kreuzer
For: Verdi and the Germans: From Unification to the Third Reich, Cambridge University Press, 2010.

Slim Award (best article by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Mark Everist
For: "Grand opera-petit opera: Parisian Opera and Ballet from the Restoration to the Second Empire," 19th-Century Music 33 (2010), 195-231.

Einstein Award (best article by scholar in early stages):

To: Jama Stilwell
For: "A New View of the Eighteenth-Century 'Abduction' Opera: Edification and Escape at the Parisian 'Théâtres de la Foire'," Music and Letters 91 (2010), 51-82.

Palisca Award (best edition or translation):

To: Magnus Williamson
For: The Eton Choirbook: Facsimile and Introductory Study, DIAMM Publications, 2010.

Solie Award (outstanding collection of essays):

To: Amanda Bayley
For: Recorded Music: Performance, Culture and Technology, Cambridge University Press, 2010.

Stevenson Award (outstanding scholarship in Iberian music, including music composed, performed, created, collected, belonging to, or descended from the musical cultures of Spain, Portugal, and all Latin American areas in which Spanish and Portuguese are spoken):

To: Susan Thomas
For: Cuban Zarzuela: Performing Race and Gender on Havana's Lyric Stage, University of Illinois Press, 2009.

Music in American Culture Award (outstanding scholarship in music of the United States):

To: Albin Zak
For: I Don't Sound Like Nobody: Remaking Music in 1950s America, University of Michigan Press, 2010.

Thomas Hampson Award (Classic Song)

To: Rufus Hallmark
For: Robert Schumann. Frauenliebe und Leben (Op. 42): Context, Composition, and Interpretation

Greenberg Award (outstanding performance projects):

To: Philip Bohlman and the New Budapest Orpheum Society
For: "Representing the Holocaust, Resounding Terezín"

Paul A. Pisk Prize (outstanding paper at annual meeting by graduate student):

To: Mark Ferraguto
For: "Beethoven à la moujik: Russianness and Learned Style in the 'Rasumovsky' String Quartets"

Administered by the LGBTQ Study Group:

Philip Brett Award (oustanding work in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender/transsexual studies):

To: William Cheng
For: "Acoustemologies of the Closet: The Wizard, the Troll, and the Fortress," forthcoming in The Oxford Handbook of Virtuality (Oxford University Press)

To: Emily Wilbourne
For: "Amor nello specchio (1622): Mirroring, Masturbation, and Same-Sex Love," Women and Music 13 (2009): 54-65.

     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube