Awards presented at the Pittsburgh Annual Meeting

Honorary members elected: Karol Berger, Sarah Fuller, Alejandro Planchart, Craig Wright, Neal Zaslaw

Corresponding members elected: Agostino Ziino

Kinkeldey Award (best book by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Tamara Levitz
For: Modernist Mysteries: Persephone, Oxford University Press, 2012

Lockwood Award (best book by scholar in early stages):

To: Brigid Cohen
For: Stefan Wolpe and the Avant-Garde Diaspora, Cambridge University Press, 2012.

Slim Award (best article by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Tim Carter
For: "Monteverdi, Early Opera and a Question of Genre: The Case of Andromeda (1620)," Journal of the Royal Musical Association, 137 (2012), 1-34.

Einstein Award (best article by scholar in early stages):

To: Theodor Dumitrescu
For: "Who was 'Prioris'? A Royal Composer Recovered," Journal of the American Musicological Society, 65 (2012), 5-66.

Palisca Award (best edition or translation):

To: Tim Carter
For: Kurt Weill: Johnny Johnson. Kurt Weill Edition, Series I, Vol. 13. The Kurt Weill Foundation for Music, 2012.

Solie Award (outstanding collection of essays):

To: John Spitzer, Ed.
For: American Orchestras in the Nineteenth Century, University of Chicago Press, 2012.

Stevenson Award (outstanding scholarship in Iberian music, including music composed, performed, created, collected, belonging to, or descended from the musical cultures of Spain, Portugal, and all Latin American areas in which Spanish and Portuguese are spoken):

To: Samuel Llano
For: Whose Spain? Negotiating "Spanish Music" in Paris, 1908-1929, Oxford University Press, 2012.

Music in American Culture Award (outstanding scholarship in music of the United States):

To: Beth E. Levy
For: Frontier Figures: American Music and the Mythology of the American West, University of California Press, 2012.

Greenberg Award (outstanding performance projects):

To: Julia Dokter
For: "Recording of Matthias Weckmann's Free Works for Organ: A Practical Application of Tactus and Tempo Research "

Paul A. Pisk Prize (outstanding paper at annual meeting by graduate student):

To: David Chapman
For: "Improvisation, Watermelons, and Steve Reich's Piano Phase"

Thomas Hampson Award (Classic Song)

To: Michael Hix
For: "Dessau's Jaldati Lieder: The Collaboration of Composer Paul Dessau and Singer Lin Jaldati"

Administered by the LGBTQ Study Group:

Philip Brett Award (oustanding work in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender/transsexual studies):

To: Elizabeth L. Wollman
For: Hard Times: The Adult Musical in 1970s New York City, Oxford University Press, 2012.

     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube