The Funds

OPUS General Fund

The OPUS General Fund supports the goals of the campaign where funds are most needed.


• The Alvin H. Johnson AMS 50 Fellowship Fund supports the final year of dissertation work.
• The Howard Mayer Brown Fellowship Fund supports graduate study for a member of a group historically under-represented in the discipline.


AMS 75 PAYS. The AMS 75 Publication Award for Young Scholars, intended as the centerpiece of the OPUS campaign, celebrates the seventy-fifth anniversary of the society by providing for members in the early stages of their careers to be able to count on subventions for their first books.The James R. Anthony Fund supports the publication of studies, including critical editions, of French music from Beaujoyeulx to Rameau (ca. 1550 – ca. 1760).
• The Barry & Claire Brook Fund supports research and publication in musical iconography.
• The Lenore Coral / RILM Fund supports the work of the US RILM office.
• The John Daverio Fund supports publications in musicology.
• The H. Wiley Hitchcock / MUSA Fund supports publication of American music.
• The Donna Cardamone Jackson Fund supports publications in musicology.
• The Joseph Kerman Fund supports publications in musicology.
• The Martin Picker Fund supports publications of Renaissance music.

Research and Travel

• The M. Elizabeth C. Bartlet Fund supports research travel in France.
• The Jan LaRue Fund supports travel and research.
• The Janet Levy Fund supports travel and research expenses for independent scholars.
• The Harold Powers World Travel Fund supports Ph.D. candidates, post-doctoral scholars, and junior faculty in all fields of musical scholarship to travel anywhere in the world to carry out their research.
• The Eugene K. Wolf Fund supports travel for dissertation research in European libraries and archives.
• The Eileen Southern Travel Fund supports travel and lodging for minority undergraduates and terminal master’s degree candidates to attend the Annual Meeting.

Awards and Prizes

Note that the named awards and prizes of the American Musicological Society—Alfred Einstein, Noah Greenberg, Otto Kinkeldey, Lewis Lockwood, Paul Pisk, H. Colin Slim, Robert Stevenson—are fully funded and not seeking contributions.