Lenore Coral / RILM Fund

supporting the United States offices of RILM


Lenore Coral (1939–2005) was librarian of the Sidney Cox Library of Music and Dance and adjunct professor of music at Cornell University. A native of Detroit, she received a B.A. in music (1961) and an M.A. in library science (1965) from the University of Chicago. She continued at King's College, London, on a Fulbright Fellowship (1965–67). A student of
Thurston Dart, she earned an M.M. in 1966 and a Ph.D. in Music History in 1974 with a dissertation on British auction and sale catalogues. She served as fine arts librarian at the University of California, Irvine (1967–72), and as the first full-time music librarian at the University of Wisconsin, Madison (1972–82). She went to Cornell in 1982.

Coral was an active member of the AMS at both the national and chapter levels. She served on the AMS Council (1975–77, 1982–84), on the AMS 50 Fellowship Committee (1984–89), and as a director-at-large (2001–03).

In 1984 she founded and became director of the U.S. RILM Office at Cornell. She held major offices in the Music Library Association (president, 1987–89) and the International Association of Music Libraries (vice president, 1991–97). Her achievements were recognized
with many awards and citations, including the MLA's citation for "distinguished service to music librarianship" in 1991, the youngest person ever to receive that award.

The Lenore Coral / RILM Fund was established in 2005.

as of 1 November 2009:

Balance: $25,715

Donors (51):

Byron Adams
Sarah Adams
Lyle Anderson
Thomas W. Baker
Christina Bashford
Ian Bent
Bonna J. Boettcher
James Borders
Claire Brook
Jennifer W. Brown
J. Peter Burkholder
Scott Burnham
James P. Cassaro
Caryl Clark
Lenore Coral estate**
Rebecca Cypess
Virginia Danielson
John Graziano
Frederick Hammond
Rebecca Harris-Warrick
Paul J. Horsley
Thomas Irvine
James Brooks Kuykendall
Paul R. Laird
Robin A. Leaver
Lowell Lindgren
Joyce Lindorff
Louise Litterick
Sandra J. Mangsen
Marita P. McClymonds
Michael McDonald
Anne Dhu McLucas
Leta E. Miller
Donald Mintz
Terence O'Grady
Ludim R. Pedroza
Deane L. Root
David B. Rosen
Mark V. Scharff
Ann Besser Scott
Eleanor Selfridge-Field
Emanuele Senici
Richard Sherr
Alexander Silbiger
Colin Slim**
Ruth Steiner
Carol A. Traupman-Carr
Todd Wetherwax
Channan Willner
Neal Zaslaw

* = $1,000 and above
** = $5,000 and above