Awards presented at the New Orleans Annual Meeting

Honorary members elected: Charles Atkinson, Marcia Citron, Christoph Wolff, Susan Youens

Corresponding members elected: Michał Bristiger, Klaus-Jürgen Sachs, Martin Staehelin

Kinkeldey Award (best book by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Ruth HaCohen
For: The Music Libel Against the Jews, Yale University Press, 2011.

Lockwood Award (best book by scholar in early stages):

To: Pierpaolo Polzonetti
For: Italian Opera in the Age of the American Revolution, Cambridge University Press, 2011.

Slim Award (best article by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Lydia Goehr
For: "—wie ihn uns Meister Dürer gemalt!: Contest, Myth, and Prophecy in Wagner’s Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg," Journal of the American Musicological Society, 64/1 (2011), 51–117.

Einstein Award (best article by scholar in early stages):

To: Francesca Brittan
For: "On Microscopic Hearing: Fairy Magic, Natural Science, and the Scherzo Fantastique," Journal of the American Musicological Society 64/3: 527–600.

Palisca Award (best edition or translation):

To: Laura Youens and Barton Hudson, and Mary Beth Winn
For: Thomasii Crequillonis Opera omnia. Vol. 18: Cantiones Quatuor Vocum, and Vol. 20: Cantiones Trium, Sex, Septem, et Duodecim Vocum, Corpus mensurabilis musicae 63, American Institute of Musicology, 2011.

Solie Award (outstanding collection of essays):

To: Alejandro Madrid, ed.
For: Transnational Encounters: Music and Performance at the U.S.-Mexico Border, Oxford University Press, 2011.

Stevenson Award (outstanding scholarship in Iberian music, including music composed, performed, created, collected, belonging to, or descended from the musical cultures of Spain, Portugal, and all Latin American areas in which Spanish and Portuguese are spoken):

To: Susan Boynton
For: Silent Music: Medieval Song and the Construction of History in Eighteenth-Century Spain, Oxford University Press, 2011.

Music in American Culture Award (outstanding scholarship in music of the United States):

To: Elizabeth A. Wells
For: West Side Story: Cultural Perspectives on an American Musical, Scarecrow Press, 2011.

Greenberg Award (outstanding performance projects):

To: Lori Kruckenberg, Michael Alan Anderson, and the Schola Antiqua of Chicago
For: "Sounding the Neumatized Sequence"

Paul A. Pisk Prize (outstanding paper at annual meeting by graduate student):

To: Barbara Swanson
For: "Old Chant, New songs: Plainchant and Monody in Early Modern Rome"

Thomas Hampson Award (Classic Song)

To: Allison K. M. Bloom
For: "'Un paysage choisi': Fêtes galantes in Fin-de-siècle French Music"

Administered by the LGBTQ Study Group:

Philip Brett Award (oustanding work in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender/transsexual studies):

To: Christopher Moore
For: “Camp in Francis Poulenc’s Early Ballets,” The Musical Quarterly 95/2-3 (Summer-Fall 2012), 299-342.

To: Mitchell Morris
For: Syllabus to Music History/LBGTS M137, "LGBTQ Perspectives in Popular Music"

     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube