AMS Nashville 2008

AMS Awards and Honors conferred

Honorary members elected: Wye Jamison Allanbrook, Jessie Ann Owens, Vivian Perlis

Corresponding members elected: Catherine Massip, Richard Middleton

Kinkeldey Award:

To: Ellen Rosand
For:Monteverdi's Last Operas: A Venetian Trilogy

Lockwood Award:

To: Alexandra Wilson
For: The Puccini Problem: Opera, Nationalism, and Modernity

Palisca Award:

To: Jennifer Williams Brown
For: Francesco Cavalli, La Calisto

Solie Award

To: Julie Brown
For:Western Music and Race

Stevenson Award

To: Tess Knighton and Alvaro Torrente
For: Devotional Music in the Iberian World, 1450-1800: The Villancico and Related Genres

Einstein Award:

To: Michael J. Puri
For:"Dandy, Interrupted: Sublimation, Repression, and Self-Portraiture in Maurice Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé (1909–1912)" JAMS 60 (2007)

Slim Award:

To: Christopher Reynolds
For: "Porgy and Bess: ‘An American Wozzeck’”, Journal of the Society for American Music, 1 (2007)

Greenberg Award:

To: Adam Knight Gilbert
For: "Fifteenth-Century Counterpoint and Improvisation"

Philip Brett Award:

TO: George Haggerty, Jenny Doctor, and Susan McClary
FOR: Sexuality in Britten: Selected Essays

TO: Martin Pénet
FOR: “L’expression homosexuelle dans les chansons françaises de l’entre-deux-guerre: entre derision et ambiguïté,” Revue d'histoire moderne et contemporaine, 53 (2006)

Pisk Prize:

To: Kimberly Anne Francis
For: "'Il reste encore des questions': Nadia Boulanger and Igor Stravinsky Develop the Symphonie de Psaumes"

     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube