Awards presented at the Louisville Annual Meeting

Honorary members elected: Carolyn Abbate, Susan McClary, Don M. Randel, Anne Walters Robertson

Corresponding members elected: Stephen Banfield, Ismael Fernández de la Cuesta, Laurenz Lütteken, Susan Rankin

Kinkeldey Award (best book by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Elisabeth Le Guin
For: The Tonadilla in Performance: Lyric Comedy in Enlightenment Spain (University of California Press, 2014)

Lockwood Award (best book by scholar in early stages):

To: Andy Fry
For: Paris Blues: African American Music and French Popular Culture, 1920-1960 (University of Chicago Press, 2014)

Slim Award (best article by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Pierpaolo Polzonetti
For: "Tartini and the Tongue of Saint Anthony," Journal of the American Musicological Society, 67 (2014), 429-86

Einstein Award (best article by scholar in early stages):

To: Andrew A. Cashner
For: "Playing Cards at the Eucharistic Table: Music, Theology, and Society in a Corpus Christi Villancico from Colonial Mexico, 1628," Journal of Early Modern History 18 (2014), 383—419

Palisca Award (best edition or translation):

To: Lawrence M. Earp, Domenic Leo, and Carla Shapreau
For: The Ferrell-Vogüé Machaut Manuscript (DIAMM, 2014)

Solie Award (outstanding collection of essays):

To: Tina Frühauf and Lily E. Hirsch, eds.,
For:Dislocated Memories: Jews, Music, and Postwar German Culture (Oxford University Press, 2014)

Stevenson Award (outstanding scholarship in Iberian music, including music composed, performed, created, collected, belonging to, or descended from the musical cultures of Spain, Portugal, and all Latin American areas in which Spanish and Portuguese are spoken):

To: Carol A. Hess
For: Representing the Good Neighbor: Music, Difference, and the Pan American Dream (Oxford University Press, 2014)

Music in American Culture Award (outstanding scholarship in music of the United States):

To: Carol J. Oja
For: Bernstein Meets Broadway: Collaborative Art in a Time of War (Oxford University Press, 2014)

Greenberg Award (outstanding performance projects):

To: Jessie Ann Owens and Blue Heron
For: World Premiere Recording of Cipriano de Rore's I madrigali a cinque voci

Paul A. Pisk Prize (outstanding paper at annual meeting by graduate student):

To: Frederick G. C. Reece
For: "'How to Forge a Missing Link: Winfried Michel’s 'Haydn' and the Style-Historical Imagination"

AMS Teaching Award

To: Estelle Joubert (Dalhousie University)
For: "Music in the Global Eighteenth Century: A New Course Proposal"

Administered by the LGBTQ Study Group:

Philip Brett Award (oustanding work in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender/transsexual studies):

To: Elias Krell
For: "Singing Strange: Transvocality in North American Music Performance," Ph.D. diss., Northwestern University, 2014

     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube