Awards presented at the Indianapolis Annual Meeting

Honorary members elected: J. Peter Burkholder, D. Kern Holoman, Richard Taruskin, Judith Tick

Corresponding members elected: Jose Lopez-Calo, Roger Parker, Philippe Vendrix

Kinkeldey Award (best book by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Charles M. Atkinson
For: The Critical Nexus: Tone-System, Mode, and Notation in Early Medieval Music, Oxford University Press, 2009.

Lockwood Award (best book by scholar in early stages):

To: Giuseppe Gerbino
For: Music and the Myth of Arcadia in Renaissance Italy, Cambridge University Press, 2009.

Slim Award (best article by scholar beyond early stages):

To: David Brodbeck
For: "Hanslick's Smetana and Hanslick's Prague," Journal of the Royal Musical Association 134 (2009), pp. 1-36.

Einstein Award (best article by scholar in early stages):

To: Nathan Seinen
For: "Kutuzov's Victory, Prokofiev's Defeat: the Revisions of War and Peace," Music & Letters 90 (2009), pp. 399-431.

Palisca Award (best edition or translation):

To: Patricia Brauner and Philip Gossett
For: Gioachino Rossini, Petite Messe solennelle, Bärenreiter, 2009.

Solie Award (outstanding collection of essays):

To: Annegret Fauser & Mark Everist
For: Music, Theatre, and Cultural Transfer: Paris, 1830-1914, University of Chicago Press, 2009.

Stevenson Award (outstanding scholarship in Iberian music, including music composed, performed, created, collected, belonging to, or descended from the musical cultures of Spain, Portugal, and all Latin American areas in which Spanish and Portuguese are spoken):

To: Geoffrey Baker
For: Imposing Harmony: Music and Society in Colonial Cuzco, Duke University Press, 2008.

Music in American Culture Award (outstanding scholarship in music of the United States):

To: Robin D. G. Kelley
For: Thelonius Monk: The Life and Times of an American Original, Simon & Schuster, 2009.

Greenberg Award (outstanding performance projects):

To: Jesse Rodin and Cut Circle
For: "Josquin's Rome: Hearing and Composing in the Sistine Chapel"

Paul A. Pisk Prize (outstanding paper at annual meeting by graduate student):

To: Remi Chiu
For: "St. Sebastian Motets as Curatives for the Plague"

Administered by the LGBTQ Study Group:

Philip Brett Award (oustanding work in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender/transsexual studies):

To: Roger Freitas
For: Portrait of a Castrato: Politics, Patronage, and Music in the Life of Atto Melani, Cambridge University Press, 2009.


     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube