M. Elizabeth C. Bartlet Fund

for Research in France

The M. Elizabeth C. Bartlet Fund for Research in France is a memorial to M. Elizabeth C. Bartlet, one of the foremost scholars of French music from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Her research was centered in Paris, where she was a commanding and beloved presence in the libraries and archives. It is to be awarded annually to one or more doctoral students at or graduates of universities in the United States and Canada to conduct doctoral or post-doctoral musicological research in France. The current maximum award is set at $2,500.

Eligible applicants must currently attend or have graduated from a doctoral program in a North American university. If they seek to conduct research for their dissertation, they must have completed all other requirements for the Ph.D. If they seek to conduct post-doctoral research, they should have completed the Ph.D. within the past five years. Preference will be given to applicants whose home institutions do not offer financial support for musicological research.

Applications for the following AMS travel and research grants will be reviewed by a single committee. Since the terms for these grants have overlapping areas of emphasis, applicants may request to be considered for more than one, if appropriate. A place to indicate which travel grant(s) you wish to be considered for is given on the web form. Although applicants may request to be considered for several grants, only one travel grant may be awarded to successful applicants. No individual may receive a travel grant more than once in a three-year period.

M. Elizabeth C. Bartlet Endowment
for research in France

Virginia and George Bozarth Endowment
for research in Austria

William Holmes / Frank D’Accone Endowment
for travel and research in the history of opera

Jan LaRue Travel Endowment
for European research

Harold Powers World Travel Endowment
for research throughout the world

Ora Frishberg Saloman Endowment
for musicological research

Eugene K. Wolf Travel Endowment
for European research

Applicants will be notified by the end of May. The winner(s) will be announced at the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Presentation of the Society. Please communicate with the office if questions arise.

The application deadline has passed. Next year's application will become available on or about 1 March 2016.

Return to the AMS Grants page

Previous Bartlet Award Winners

     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube