AMS Council

See the AMS Administration page for all current members of AMS Council.

The AMS Council is established as an entity of the AMS in its By-laws, Article IV. AMS Council functions as a forum for AMS members to consider matters of policy and make recommendations to the Board of Directors. It also elects Honorary and Corresponding Members of the Society each year. It meets at the Annual Meeting each year (Saturday noon).

Further administrative information on AMS Council is provided in the AMS Handbook.

Council membership: The Council Nominating Committee solicits nominations in December each year, and draws up a slate of candidates for Board approval in March. The AMS membership then votes on the slate. Fifteen per year are elected through this process. Terms are three years.

Council includes forty-five at-large members, thirty student members (elected or appointed by chapters; two-year terms), and fifteen chapter representatives.

Student members of council may request travel support from the AMS. For further information, see the Chapter Fund web page.

Nominations, including self-nominations for AMS Council are encouraged. Send your nomination to the Chair of the Council Nominating Committee by 16 January 2018.

Further information on nominations:



     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube